Higgs Boson Physicists Receive 2013 Nobel Prize

by Elizabeth Howell October 8, 2013

Want to stay on top of all the space news? Follow @universetoday on Twitter That was fast! Just one year after a Higgs Boson-like particle was found at the Large Hadron Collider, the two physicists who first proposed its existence have received the Nobel Prize in Physics for their work. François Englert (of the former Free University […]

Read the full article →

An “Elemental” Explanation of Dark Matter

by Jason Major June 28, 2013

Atoms, string theory, dark matter, dark energy… there’s an awful lot about the Universe that might make sense on paper (to physicists, anyway) but is extremely difficult to detect and measure, at least with the technology available today. But at the core of science is observation, and what’s been observed of the Universe so far […]

32 comments Read the full article →

Will Antimatter Obey Gravity’s Pull?

by Elizabeth Howell May 1, 2013

What goes up must always come down, right? Well, the European Laboratory for Particle Physics (CERN) wants to test if that principle applies to antimatter. Remove this ad Elizabeth Howell on Google+

35 comments Read the full article →

The Face of Creation

by Jason Major January 3, 2013

The latest autotuned installment in John D. Boswell’s Symphony of Science series waxes melodic about the particle-smashing science being done with the Large Hadron Collider at CERN, in particular its search for the Higgs boson, a.k.a. the… ok, ok, I won’t say it… “We can recreate the conditions that were present just after the beginning […]

3 comments Read the full article →

Stephen Hawking and CERN LHC Team Each Win $3 Million Prize

by Nancy Atkinson December 11, 2012

Stephen Hawking visited the Large Hadron Collider’s underground tunnel at Europe’s CERN particle physics research center in 2006. Hawking and seven CERN researchers receiving multimillion-dollar prizes from the Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation. Image credit: CERN Two $3,000,000 special physics prizes have been awarded to Stephen Hawking and to seven scientists who led the effort to […]

8 comments Read the full article →