esa, Live Broadcasts

Watch the ATV Launch Live

23 Mar , 2012 by Video

UPDATE: The ATV launched successfully and is now on its way to the ISS, and we’ve switched out the live feed with a video replay. It will take about 6 days for the ATV 3 to rendezvous with the ISS and docking will take place on March 28th at 10:34PM UTC (06:34PM EDT).

The new ATV Edoardo Amaldi launched on its mission to the International Space Station early March 23/late March 22 at 4:34 UTC, (12:34 am EDT on the 24th). Europe’s third Automated Transfer Vehicle was launched on an Ariane 5 from the Spaceport in French Guiana to bring 7 tons of supplies to the space station.

Below is a short video shows the latest ATV’s construction all the way to the pre-launch preparations.

,

By  -        
Nancy Atkinson is currently Universe Today's Contributing Editor. Previously she served as UT's Senior Editor and lead writer, and has worked with Astronomy Cast and 365 Days of Astronomy. Nancy is also a NASA/JPL Solar System Ambassador.



Sort by:   newest | oldest | most voted
Simon Donaldson
Guest
March 23, 2012 4:28 AM

LOOL

Anyone else notice everyone inside Jupiter are old men? razz

EarthlingX
Guest
March 23, 2012 6:11 AM

For those who prefer sleeping to rocket spotting, here’s a video :

Jeffrey Scott Boerst
Guest
March 23, 2012 8:54 AM

Why was the audio almost unhearable? Anyone else have this issue?

Aqua4U
Member
March 23, 2012 1:54 PM

Thanks for posting this link Nancy.. wuz able to watch the launch live! I like!

Hematite
Member
Hematite
March 23, 2012 5:33 PM

Count down in French … The guidance computer must have been programed to “retreat” from its launch site.

squidgeny
Member
squidgeny
March 23, 2012 8:36 PM

Tiresome.

wpDiscuz