New Crew Arrives at Space Station

The crew aboard the International Space Station is now back to a compliment of six. New Expedition 31 crew members Gennady Padalka, Joe Acaba and Sergei Revin docked and have now been welcomed on board the ISS after the hatches opened Thursday at 08:10 UTC (4:10 a.m. EDT). They docked to the Poisk module at 4:36 UTC (12:36 a.m. EDT) after a two day journey that began in Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan aboard a Soyuz TMA-04M spacecraft. While they’ll be in space for about six months, the new crew members will get right to work preparing for the arrival of the first commercial cargo craft to the ISS. SpaceX’s Dragon is scheduled to launch at 08:55 UTC (4:55 a.m. EDT) this Saturday, May 19, with the Canadarm2 grappling Dragon on May 22, berthing it to the Harmony node.

Nancy Atkinson

Nancy has been with Universe Today since 2004, and has published over 6,000 articles on space exploration, astronomy, science and technology. She is the author of two books: "Eight Years to the Moon: the History of the Apollo Missions," (2019) which shares the stories of 60 engineers and scientists who worked behind the scenes to make landing on the Moon possible; and "Incredible Stories from Space: A Behind-the-Scenes Look at the Missions Changing Our View of the Cosmos" (2016) tells the stories of those who work on NASA's robotic missions to explore the Solar System and beyond. Follow Nancy on Twitter at https://twitter.com/Nancy_A and and Instagram at and https://www.instagram.com/nancyatkinson_ut/

Recent Posts

Webb Measures the Weather on a Tidally Locked Exoplanet

Exploring exoplanet atmospheres in more detail was one task that planetary scientists anticipated during the…

5 hours ago

More Than Half of Near Earth Objects Could Be “Dark Comets”

Next time you're visiting the seaside or a large lake, or even sipping a frosty…

13 hours ago

New Images From Webb Reveal Jupiter's Complex Atmosphere

The James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) has accomplished some spectacular feats since it began operations…

15 hours ago

Pulsars are the Ideal Probes for Dark Matter

Pulsars are the remnants of the explosion of massive stars at the end of their…

16 hours ago

Webb Maps the Weather on the Closest Brown Dwarfs to Earth

James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) has done it again. A team of astronomers have used…

17 hours ago

Astronauts Struggle To Eat Their Space Food and Scientists Want to Know Why

Astronauts sometimes struggle to consume enough nutritious food on the ISS because it tastes bland.…

18 hours ago