Lunar Eclipse Tonight

Article written: 15 May , 2003
by

The Americas and part of Europe will be treated to a total eclipse of the moon on Thursday night ? the first one visible here in three years. A lunar eclipse occurs when the Earth?s shadow falls on the Moon, turning it a deep red colour. Unlike solar eclipses, lunar eclipses are completely safe to watch with the naked eye; and it looks even better with a pair of binoculars or small telescope. The eclipse begins at 0203 GMT Friday (10:03pm EDT Thursday), and reaches the maximum at 0340 GMT (11:40pm EDT). The eclipse will be best viewed from the Eastern Coast of the United States.


Leave a Reply