Categories: Breaking NewsSpaceX

NASA and SpaceX Make History with Successful Crew Dragon Launch!

Today, on Saturday, May 30th, NASA and SpaceX successfully launched the Crew Dragon to space with two astronauts for the first time. Far from just a demonstration, this launch signaled the restoration of domestic launch capability to US soil! From this day forward, NASA astronauts will no longer be dependent on foreign launch providers (like Roscosmos) to send astronauts to the International Space Station (ISS).

After passing all of its preflight checks, ground controllers signaled that the mission (Demo-2) was a go at 03:22 p.m. EDT (12:22 p.m. PDT), saying “let’s light this candle!” A few seconds later, the Crew Dragon spacecraft and astronauts Robert Behnken and Douglas Hurley lifted off atop a Falcon 9 rocket from Launch Pad 39A at the Kennedy Space Center.

The launch was originally meant to take place on Wednesday, May 27th, at 03:22 p.m. EDT (12:22 p.m. PDT). However, bad weather caused the launch to be scrubbed less than 15 minutes before engine ignition and NASA decided to try again during one of the mission’s backup launch windows – either today at 03:22 p.m. EDT (12:22 p.m. PDT) or tomorrow at 03:00 p.m. EDT (12:00 p.m. PDT).

The event was the subject of live coverage by NASA Live and SpaceX, as well as live-updates via their respective Twitter feeds. About a minute into launch, both SpaceX and NASA tweeted success, the latter stating, “We have liftoff. History is made as @NASA_Astronauts launch from @NASAKennedy for the first time in nine years on the @SpaceX Crew Dragon.”

Four minutes into launch, NASA declared that the mission had achieved main engine cutoff (MECO) and separation from the first stage. From this point onward, the Falcon 9’s second stage continued to push the Crew Dragon into orbit while the first stage began the process of returning to the surface.

At 03:32 p.m. EDT (12:32 p.m. PDT), SpaceX live-tweeted that the second stage engine burn was complete and second engine cutoff (SECO) had occurred. One minute later, they announced that the first stage had been successfully recovered at sea after landing on the deck of the company’s drone ship Of Course I Still Love You.

Twelve minutes into the flight, NASA announced that the Crew Dragon spacecraft had separated from the Falcon 9’s second stage, which meant that spacecraft was in its desired orbit. The spacecraft’s nosecone then opened, depositing the Crew Dragon and its crew into space. At 04:09 p.m. EDT (01:09 p.m. PDT) the Crew Dragon conduct the first of several phase burns that will keep it on course for its 19-hour journey to the ISS.

The spacecraft will rendezvous with the ISS tomorrow (Sunday, May 31st) at 10:29 a.m. EDT (07:29 a.m. PDT). Once there, the spacecraft will autonomously dock with the station – though Behnken will assume control in the event that the autonomous systems are not working. Behnken and Hurley will then disembark and enter the station to complete the mission.

Rearview from the Crew Dragon after it finished separating from the Falcon 9 second stage. Credit: NASA/SpaceX

Until then, Behnken and Hurley have a few tasks ahead of them, and NASA and SpaceX do too! At 04:55 p.m. EDT (01:55 p.m. PDT), the astronauts will take control of Crew Dragon for the first of two manual flight tests designed to show that astronauts can take control in the event of a system’s failure. A broadcast and update on the progress of the mission from the Crew Dragon is expected at 05:55 p.m. EDT (02:55 p.m. PDT).

At 06:30 p.m. EDT (03:30 p.m. PDT), NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine will host a postlaunch news conference from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center. Joining him will be NASA Commercial Crew Program manager Kathy Lueders, a representative of SpaceX, ISS Program Manager Kirk Shireman, and NASA Chief Astronaut Pat Forrester.

Live-coverage by NASA Live and participating streaming services is still going and will continue until tonight’s news conference! Check out the continuing coverage below:

Further Reading: NASA, SpaceX

Matt Williams

Matt Williams is a space journalist and science communicator for Universe Today and Interesting Engineering. He's also a science fiction author, podcaster (Stories from Space), and Taekwon-Do instructor who lives on Vancouver Island with his wife and family.

Recent Posts

Lunar Infrastructure Could Be Protected By Autonomously Building A Rock Wall

Lunar exploration equipment at any future lunar base is in danger from debris blasted toward…

11 hours ago

Why is Jupiter’s Great Red Spot Shrinking? It’s Starving.

The largest storm in the Solar System is shrinking and planetary scientists think they have…

18 hours ago

ESA is Building a Mission to Visit Asteroid Apophis, Joining it for its 2029 Earth Flyby

According to the ESA's Near-Earth Objects Coordination Center (NEOCC), 35,264 known asteroids regularly cross the…

23 hours ago

The Most Dangerous Part of a Space Mission is Fire

Astronauts face multiple risks during space flight, such as microgravity and radiation exposure. Microgravity can…

1 day ago

Stars Can Survive Their Partner Detonating as a Supernova

When a massive star dies in a supernova explosion, it's not great news for any…

1 day ago

Swarming Satellites Could Autonomous Characterize an Asteroid

An asteroid's size, shape, and rotational speed are clues to its internal properties and potential…

1 day ago