Astronomy Cast Ep. 457: Why Did Cassini Have To Die? In Memoriam

Article written: 18 Sep , 2017
Updated: 9 Nov , 2017
by

It’s time to say goodbye to an old friend, NASA’s Cassini spacecraft, which has been orbiting within the Saturnian system since 2004. But why does a seemingly healthy spacecraft and mission need to come to an end? Today we look back at the mission, some of the amazing discoveries, and why its finale was necessary.

We usually record Astronomy Cast every Friday at 12:00 pm PDT / 3:00 pm EDT/ 19:00 PM UTC. You can watch us live on here on AstronomyCast.com, or the AstronomyCast YouTube page.

If you would like to support Astronomy Cast, please visit our page at Patreon here – https://www.patreon.com/astronomycast. We greatly appreciate your support!

If you would like to join the Weekly Space Hangout Crew, visit their site here and sign up. They’re a great team who can help you join our online discussions!

, , ,



Comments are closed.