Saturn Reaches Opposition on April 28

by Nancy Atkinson on April 28, 2013

Want to stay on top of all the space news? Follow @universetoday on Twitter

Saturn is one of the most striking objects to see through a telescope, and it is now at its brightest in the night sky as it reaches opposition from the Sun. This is when Earth stands mostly perfectly in line between Saturn and the Sun. It is when Saturn is brightest (at magnitude +0.3), closely approximating famous “first magnitude” stars like Betelgeuse. Also, it is when Saturn is out all night long.

Slooh Space Camera will broadcast a free, real-time feed of Saturn at opposition, with the giant planet’s rings impressively angled — its best in six years. Slooh’s coverage will begin on Sunday, April 28th, starting at 6:30 p.m. PDT / 9:30 p.m. EDT / 01:30 UTC (April 29th), with observatory feeds from their world-class observatory site in the Canary Islands off the coast of Africa. Viewers can watch live on their PC/Mac at Slooh.com, or by downloading the free Slooh iPad app in the iTunes store and touching the broadcast icon.

About 

Nancy Atkinson is Universe Today's Senior Editor. She also works with Astronomy Cast, and is a NASA/JPL Solar System Ambassador.

Bee Ryan April 28, 2013 at 10:08 PM

Saturn is late – it should have reached opposition on Saturday!

BrimmingUSpride April 29, 2013 at 7:29 AM

“The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament shows His handiwork.” Thank you, O Lord, for giving us Saturn to “Wow” us. Too cool! I’ve loved looking at it through a telescope since I was a teenager! Look up and see the glory of the Lord world and give Him the glory due His name. God bless the U.S.A.

Aqua4U April 30, 2013 at 12:02 AM

Very nice… Saturn at it’s best! With Comet Lemmon at dawn, it looks like time for an ‘all nighter’? Come on! Let’s go count some stars!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: