Perseverance Takes a Selfie With Ingenuity. It’s Almost Time to fly

Perseverance is having a proud parent moment in this image, looking like it’s waiting with a child at the bus stop on the first day of school.

The Mars 2020 rover took this selfie with the Ingenuity helicopter, which is preparing to take the first controlled flight ever on another world. On April 3rd, Ingenuity was removed from its carbon-fiber compartment on the underside of Perseverance. Subsequent checkouts of Ingenuity are going well (engineers on Earth commander the rotors to turn yesterday, see below) and on Sunday, April 11th, it will make its first attempt at a powered flight.

The selfie was taken on April 6 (Sol 46 of the mission) with a camera called WATSON (Wide Angle Topographic Sensor for Operations and eNgineering), part of the SHERLOC (Scanning Habitable Environments with Raman and Luminescence for Organics and Chemicals) instrument, located at the end of the rover’s robotic arm. Ingenuity was about 13 feet (4 meters) away from Perseverance. The image was created by stitching together 62 separate images. Here’s an article on how the rovers take the “selfies.”

While Perseverance has now moved further away from the helicopter, the proud parent will stay nearby for Ingenuity’s first flight, as well as the 30-day testing window to provide “support” and to relay commands from Earth.  There’s an overlook point about 200 feet (60 meters) away where Perseverance will “watch” (aka, take pictures with its cameras) the Mars helicopter’s first flight.  

For the first flight, JPL mission controllers will send flight instructions to Perseverance, which will relay them to Ingenuity. JPL says that several factors will determine the precise time for the flight, including modeling of local wind patterns informed by measurements taken by the rover’s weather station, the MEDA (Mars Environmental Dynamics Analyzer). Ingenuity will run its rotors to 2,537 rpm and, if all final self-checks look good, lift off. After climbing at a rate of about 3 feet per second (1 meter per second), the helicopter will hover at 10 feet (3 meters) above the surface for up to 30 seconds. Then, Ingenuity will descend and touch back down on the Martian surface.

We can expect to get details of the first flight (engineering data and possibly images, confirming if the flight was successful) back on Earth during the early morning hours on April 11. The current expectations are that data will be received at about 3:30 am EDT/12:30 am PDT/ 7 am UTC. A post-flight news briefing is currently scheduled later at 11 am EDT/8 am PDT/3 pm UTC.

There is a pre-flight briefing today (Friday 9 April) at 10 am PDT / 1 pm EDT/ 5 pm UTC. You can watch here.  

Further reading: NASA’s Mars 2020 webpage

Nancy Atkinson

Nancy has been with Universe Today since 2004. She is the author of a new book on the Apollo program, "Eight Years to the Moon," which shares the stories of 60 engineers and scientists who worked behind the scenes to make landing on the Moon possible. Her first book, "Incredible Stories from Space: A Behind-the-Scenes Look at the Missions Changing Our View of the Cosmos" tells the stories of those who work on NASA's robotic missions to explore the Solar System and beyond.

Recent Posts

NASA is Building a Nuclear Reactor to Power Lunar and Martian Exploration!

NASA and the U.S. Dept. of Energy have come together to solicit design proposals for…

20 hours ago

InSight Peers Deep Below the Surface on Mars

The InSight lander has been on Mars, gathering data for a thousand days now, working…

2 days ago

Astronauts Took A Fly-around of the International Space Station. Here are Their Stunning Pictures

When astronauts left the International Space Station in early November to return home on the…

2 days ago

NASA Simulation Shows What Happens When Stars Get Too Close to Black Holes

What happens to a star when it strays too close to a monster black hole?…

3 days ago

The Parker Solar Probe is getting pelted by hypervelocity dust. Could they damage spacecraft?

There’s a pretty significant disadvantage to going really fast - if you get hit with…

3 days ago

The Decadal Survey is out! What new Missions and Telescopes are in the Works?

It’s that time again.  Once every ten years, the American astronomy community joins forces through…

3 days ago