Join UT’s First Live Interview with Rover Driver Scott Maxwell

by Nancy Atkinson on February 9, 2012

Want to stay on top of all the space news? Follow @universetoday on Twitter

Rover Driver Scott Maxwell with a model of MER. Photo courtesy Scott Maxwell

How often have you wanted to be a fly on the wall during media interviews of top scientists and engineers? Here’s your chance! On Friday, February 10, we’ll be having our first live interview via a Google+ Hangout On Air. We’ve done the weekly Space Hangout for several weeks now and Fraser has done multiple virtual star parties via a Hangout On Air. Now we’ll start the first of what we hope are many live interviews that we’ll share with our readers and fans. We’re excited that Mars rover driver Scott Maxwell, will be joining us, and he will provide insight on the plans for the Opportunity rover’s upcoming winter, a look back at the 8 years and counting for the rovers, a look ahead to the future, and more.

The Hangout On Air will start at 18:00 UTC (1 pm EST,12 noon CST, 10 am PST) or you can check here at the fancy-schmancy time and date announcement Scott put together that shows the time in almost every time zone possible.

How do you find the Hangout? The best way is to join Google+ and “circle” Fraser and the Hangout On Air will show up in his timeline. You can also circle Nancy, who will also provide a link, but within Fraser’s timeline there will also be the opportunity for you to post questions that we can ask Scott during the live interview.

If you can’t watch live, the Hangout will be recorded and we’ll post it later on Friday on Universe Today.

We hope you’ll join us!

About 

Nancy Atkinson is Universe Today's Senior Editor. She also is the host of the NASA Lunar Science Institute podcast and works with Astronomy Cast. Nancy is also a NASA/JPL Solar System Ambassador.

Aerandir90 February 10, 2012 at 5:51 AM

Thanks for recording, won’t be able to see it in realtime

Alex Howlett February 10, 2012 at 11:51 AM

Looking forward to this historic event!

Anonymous February 10, 2012 at 5:07 PM

Do I have to join GooGoo + to watch this interview live?

Anonymous February 10, 2012 at 5:40 PM

We’re hoping to have a video feed on the main page of UT so you can watch there… working on it!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: